Please log in for



Frankfurt am Main ––––– Feb, 4th 2009

Crytek Acquires Free Radical Design

Nottingham based developer to become Crytek UK
Frankfurt a. M. (Germany) / Nottingham (United Kingdom), February 4th 2009 - Crytek GmbH ("Crytek") announced today that it has acquired all assets and business of Free Radical Design Limited ("Free Radical"). Free Radical is based in Nottingham, United Kingdom and is known for the multi-award winning Timesplitters series. The studio will now be integrated into Crytek's network. Avni Yerli, Managing Director of Crytek, said, "We're very excited about this step to expand Crytek into the UK with such an experienced and highly talented team. Free Radical Design is a great fit to Crytek and its culture, given that Free Radical has a proven track record on delivering high quality games. The combination of this team, the Crytek network and our CryENGINE technology will be a foundation for outstanding gaming experiences and a magnet for the best talent in the UK."
About Crytek GmbH Crytek GmbH ("Crytek") is one of the world's leading independent development studios for interactive entertainment with its headquarters in Frankfurt am Main (Germany) and additional studios in Kiev (Ukraine), Budapest (Hungary), Sofia (Bulgaria) and Seoul (South Korea). Crytek is dedicated to creating exceptionally high quality video games for the PC and next-generation consoles, powered by their proprietary cutting edge 3D-Game-Technology CryENGINE"®.   Since it's foundation in 1999, Crytek created the multi-award winning PC titles Far Cry"®, Crysis"®, awarded best PC Game of E3 2007 and Best Technology at the 2008 Game Developers Choice Awards and Crysis Warhead"®, awarded Best Graphics Technology at IGN Best of 2008 Awards. Development teams and companies interested in obtaining a commercial license for the CryENGINE"® 2 middleware can find more information on Crytek, Crysis, Crysis Warhead and CryENGINE are registered trademarks or trademarks of Crytek GmbH in the USA, Germany and/or other countries. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Share this article: